Bundesbag – All about the Bundesliga

The Bundesliga, or Fußball-Bundesliga is the professional football association in Germany and is the primary football competition in the country. The primary division is made up of 18 teams and operates as with other leagues through a system of promotion and relegation with the 2nd division.

The league seasons run from August to May, with most games played on Saturdays and Sundays, with the winner of the Bundesliga qualifying for the DFL-Supercup.

Bayern Munich have won the league the most times, 27 times in total. Other prominent winners along the years since it’s founding have been Borussia Dortmund, Hamburger SV, Werder Bremen, Borussia Mönchengladbach and VfB Stuttgart.

The Bundesliga, which was founded in 1962 in Dortmund, today has the highest rate of average attendance around the world, with an average of about 45,000 fans per game, being only superseded by the American NFL in terms of attendance. The games are broadcast in over 200 countries.

Read More: Top 10 most expensive football transfers of all time

Teams in various leagues need to have a license to be able to play in the league, so teams must be financially healthy and meet specific standards of conduct.

Every team in the two Bundesligen must have a licence to play in the league, or else they are relegated into the regional leagues. To obtain a license, teams must be financially healthy and meet certain standards of conduct as organizations. Of course, teams who are in the top division get a number of benefits:

  • Large share of television revenues
  • Great levels of fan support, an average of more than 42,000 attendees per game
  • Huge exposure
  • Financial stability from television and stadium attendance revenues, sponsorships, marketing of the team brands and other revenues.

This allows the teams to attract and keep highly skilled players.